When you make the decision to get behind the wheel after you have had a few drinks, you are risking your own life, as well as the lives of all the other people on the road. If you are caught driving under the influence (DUI) the penalty can be harsh, especially in Ohio, where your license can be suspended for a minimum of 6 months, and up to three years, depending on your case. You could also face an operating a vehicle intoxicated (OVI) charge in Ohio that will cost you anywhere from $250 to $1000.
DUI laws by state vary, but for the most part, an DUI will get your license suspended, and you will typically have to pay a fee similar to Ohio’s. In addition, having a DUI on your record can severely affect your chances of securing employment,